Jersey City Public School District Calendar

The Jersey City Board of Education (JCBOE) generally votes to approve the school calendar annually at its regularly scheduled board meeting in May.  Follow us on WordPress and like our Facebook page to receive updates when the new calendar becomes available.

Generally, the first day of school is the first Thursday after Labor Day (the first Monday of September).  Schools are generally closed for the week of Election Day in November, between Christmas and New Year’s Day, and for Good Friday and the week following Easter.  Additionally, the schools in Jersey City are generally closed for Columbus Day, Veterans’ Day, Diwali, Thanksgiving, MLK Day, Presidents’ Day, Eid-al-Fitr, Eid and Memorial Day.

2021-2022 JCBOE Public School Calendar

A 2021-2022 JCBOE public school calendar was approved in May 2021, confirming the following 2021-2022 school holidays for students:

Print the 2021-2022 JCBOE public school monthly calendar.

  • First Day of School: Thursday, September 9, 2021
  • Columbus Day: Monday, October 11, 2021 (District Closed)
  • Election Day, NJ Week, and Diwali: Monday, November 1, 2021 through Friday, November 5 (Schools Closed)
  • Veterans’ Day: Thursday, November 11, 2021 (District Closed)
  • Thanksgiving Half Day: Wednesday, November 24, 2021
  • Thanksgiving Recess: Thursday, November 25, 2021 through Friday, November 26, 2021 (District Closed)
  • Winter Recess Half Day: Wednesday, December 22, 2021
  • Winter Recess: Thursday, December 23, 2021 through Friday, December 31, 2021 (Schools Closed)
  • MLK Day: Monday, January 17, 2022 (District Closed)
  • Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 21, 2022
  • Spring Break Half Day: Thursday, April 14, 2022
  • Spring Break: Friday, April 15, 2022 through Friday, April 22, 2022
  • Eid-al-Fitr: Tuesday, May 3, 2022
  • Memorial Day Half Day: Friday, May 27, 2022
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 30, 2022
  • Juneteenth Observed: Friday, June 17, 2022
  • Half Day Sessions for Last 3 Days of School (if no emergency days needed): June 23, 24, and 27, 2022
  • Last Day of School: Monday, June 27, 2022
  • Emergency Days: June 28, 29, and 30, 2022

2020-2021 JCBOE Public School Calendar

Print or subscribe to the 2020-2021 JCBOE Public School Calendar

Or find the list of key dates for the 2020-2021 JCBOE Public School Calendar.

Or print the monthly calendars for the 2020-2021 JCBOE Public School Calendar.